

P. O. Box 1, Blantyre, Malawi

Tel: (265) 01820301; Fax: (265) 01824312

Email: icam@icam.mw

Paper No. 8

ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS

There were six (6) Council meetings held within the year (September 2018 to August 2019) and below is the attendance list.

	Name	Category	Year elected	Attendance	Retirement
					MEMARTS
					section
1	David Mhango	PR	2018	6/6	40
2	Samuel Yakobe	NPR	2016	6/6	36
3	Moffat Ngalande	PR	2017	5/6	36
4	Kezzie Mkandawire	Academia	2017	4/6	36
5	Phyles Kachingwe	NPR	2018	6/6	
6	Hilda Singo	NPR	2018	5/6	
7	Joel Mwenelupembe	PR	2018	6/6	
8	Madalo Mwenelupembe	PR	2018	5/6	
9	Daniel Jere	NP	2017	4/6	
10	Peter Chetama	Diplomate	2017	5/6	
11	Victoria Munkhondya	PR	2017	4/6	
12	James Kamsesa	NPR	2018	5/6	

Note:

PR = Practising Resident Member
 NPR = Non Practising Resident Member

4. DIP = Diplomate Member
5. Sec 36 = Retirement by rotation
6 Sec 37 = Retirement by rotation
6. Sec 40 = Council appointment

7. Sec 44 = Failure to attend majority meetings

8. Sec 45 = Resignation

Applying the old rules, there are four (4) vacancies in the Council, two (2) to be filled by practicing members/members working in practice, one (1) to be filled by a non-practising members and one (1) to be filled by a member working in the training institutions.

PROPOSAL 8:

- 1) To approve that elections for 2019 should be conducted using the old rules until the Council reconciles with the Attorney the one third rule with the time limit rule ie a limit of two terms of three years each.
- 2) It is hereby proposed that elections for Council members should be conducted for applicants who have presented valid nomination forms.